How to Restore Files

 

  1. In the Tasks bar, under Views, click Restore.
  2. In Show, select one of the following revision display options:

All revisions

All file revisions are displayed and available as restore selections.

Latest revision

Only the latest file revision is displayed and available as a restore selection.

Revisions modified on or after

If selected, enter a date and time after which revisions will be displayed and available as restore selections, then click OK.

  1. Select the items you want to restore.

In some cases the Restore Search view may contain duplicate entries for the same file. If this occurs, you can select either file to restore and receive the same outcome.
When you delete a file, the backup files are retained until the file grooming process deletes them. If an original file has been deleted, but backup files are still available, the icon for the file in the restore view includes a red X to indicate the deletion of the original file.

  1. Click Restore.
  2. Select the appropriate options as follows, and then click OK:

Restore to the original folders on this computer

Select this option to restore files and folders to their original location.

Redirect the restore to an alternate folder on this computer

Select this option to restore files and folders to an alternate folder on the same computer.

Preserve folder structure

Select this option to restore the data with its original directory structure. If you clear this option, all data (including the data in subdirectories) is restored to the path you specify.

i-irow: 3">

If file already exists

Select one of the following:
•·         Do not overwrite
•·         Prompt
•·         Overwrite

Restore deleted files

Select this option if you want to restore files even though the source file has been deleted.

Preserve security attributes on restored files

Select Preserve security attributes on restored files to preserve security information in restored files.
You may need to uncheck this box to successfully restore a file if the source file security conflicts with the destination security. Unchecking this option causes the security information to be removed from the restored file

 

share